Mindfulness: Living Mindfully

Another conversation about mindfulness. I love sharing my experience with my practice of mindfulness it has been such a major part of my journey towards wholeness. I hope to encourage someone else to start the journey of living mindfully. In the beginning of my practice of mindfulness it was so difficult because I had live an emotionally chaotic life. I was all over the place and struggled to live in the moment in a state of acceptance and peace.  Once I started my journey to living a mindful life it took a lot of work and endurance to stay the course, but I am in a place where I can share my experience. Right now I just want to share some of the basic of Mindfulness, some of the techniques I use in my practice.

What is mindfulness?

Mindfulness:”Acceptance, meaning that we pay attention to our thoughts and feelings without judging them-without believing, for instance, that there’s a “right” or “wrong” way to think or feel in a given moment.” greatergood.berkeley.edu

Another explanation: “Mindfulness as a practice directs your attention to only one thing and that one thing is the moment you are living in.” –Marsha Linehan (Creator of DBT Dialectical Behavior Therapy) 

The many benefits in the practice of mindfulness:

  1. Clear mind for dealing with stress, depression, anxiety, and PTSD
  2. Reduces anger, hostility, mood disturbance
  3. Increased ability to focus
  4. Ability to live a  balanced life
  5. Ability to be present in your life
  6. Ability to be in touch with your feelings

There are many more benefits that I haven’t mentioned to living a mindful life. The benefits are endless and when you practice mindfulness you may find more benefits that are not listed here. If you do practice mindfulness feel free to share some of the benefits that you have found through your practice.  

Here are a few of my mindfulness activities:

Deep breathing: I have found that when I take out time to breathe consciously I am rejuvenated and able to focus on what I must do. I feel relaxed and peaceful.

I found this one quote that I really love: “Breathing in, I know that I am Breathing in.”  -Thich Nhat Hahn

Meditation: I meditate everyday. When I meditate it is my time to pray, listen, and draw direction for my life. I am able to reflect on the promises of God in my life.

Journal: when I journal this is my time to sit with my feelings and not judge them. I reflect and process what I am experiencing. I’ve journaled since the age of thirteen and I believe it is one of the things that has kept me grounded in life.

Disconnect: For me disconnecting from the outside world in order to regroup is necessary to remain present in life. I put down my phone, turn off the t.v. and just decompress from the constant activity around. The disconnect does not have to be long but taking out some time to sit with yourself is rejuvenating.

Create Something Beautiful:  As an artist I find that being creative is one of my favorite mindfulness activities. For me when I am working with paints, charcoal, or ink it is an opportunity to channel my mind into something beautiful.

These are a few of the things that have helped me on the journey. This is just the beginnning of sharing mindfulness with you. I will continue to post more on Mindfulness. Look for more Mindfulness Monday, that is when I will post various information on the subject that is important to me…

-Natalie

 

 

If you are interested I have listed some of the resources to check out:

  1. greatergood.berkeley.edu
  2. Marsha Linehan : DBT Mindfulness
  3. Huffington Post, Carolyn Gregoire

 

 

                  

 

Leave a Reply

