Mindfulness :Sleep Hygiene

Before going to bed every night I do the same thing. I shower, I journal, and I write out my daily gratitude. I have found that my routine has helped me center myself before bed while creating a clear mind for  deep restful sleep. No matter how busy or chaotic my day has been my night routine is how I regain balance in my life. Sleep hygiene is my time to be present in the moment.

I look forward to the 2 hours  before going to bed. The house is quiet and I am with myself.  As I wash away the day I am present with myself  focusing on the process of showering.While I shower I purposely take out the time to enjoy the scent of my Dove body wash and how it lathers in my pink loofah. I pay attention to how smooth my skin feels from the soap that is infused with a deep mositurizer.  I wash my face with my Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit scrub. It actually smells like grapefruit, which is refreshing. The tiny exfoliating beads removes the dirt and makeup from my long day. As the water lightly taps my shoulder I can feel the tension ease and I stand there a little longer until the sting of the hot water subsides. Ah, I am finally relaxed.

After I’ve showered and dressed, I grab my journal. I have kept a journal since the age of 13. I lay everything down in my specially selected college lined journal. It takes me hours to pick out the perfect book to hold all the important and personal details of my life. My journal typically last about 2-3 months, I have every single one of them. My favorite journal is the Hello Kitty one with the lock and key I think that was actually my second journal.

Anyway, I got a little distracted. My journaling time is my place to express everything that I would not really want to share and it is also the space where I  reflect on my day. My journal soaks up all of my emotions and when I step away I feel at peace within myself. Leaving everything on the pages of my journal allow me to sleep with a clear mind.

Once my mind is clear I take out my gratitude notebook and list all that I am grateful for that day. I have found that end of the day gratitude check is my daily reminder of how blessed I am. Some days I have a lot to write,and other days I only have one thing to write in my gratitude notebook. When I started writing the list of all that I am grateful for in lifeI want to write something big everyday. Through out the process I have come to realize that it is not the size of what I am grateful for that matters but the fact that i am actually taking out the time to acknowledge my daily blessings. So, I write everything big and small.

Finally, my night routine is something I look forward to because it is in those moments when the stress of the day floats away and I can sit with myself and check my feelings. All of these mindful activities are my way of getting in touch with myself and creating a sense of internal balance. For about three years this has been part of my life and I have found myself being able to sleep peacefully, amd for that I am grateful.

-Natalie

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mindfulness :Sleep Hygiene

Leave a Reply

